Membership Eligibility

Members must be a U.S. citizen or national with an honorable discharge from the U.S. military, or currently serving in the United States Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, or Coast Guard. Membership also requires military service overseas during an operation or conflict and decoration with an Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal, a campaign medal (or ribbon). A Leave and Earnings Statement showing receipt of hostile fire or imminent danger pay is also acceptable proof for membership eligibility.

Partial list of awards, devices, ribbons & medals for eligibility



Service for thirty (30) consecutive days duty in Korea or sixty (60) days of non-consecutive duty in Korea.

Service members currently deployed to a combat zone meet the qualification for joining the VFW.

A DD214 or World War II era discharge paper with campaign medals, and/or badges printed on back is used to verify membership eligibility.

Notable Past Members:

Several presidents of the United States have been members of the VFW. They include - Theodore Roosevelt, Harry S Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard M. Nixon, Gerald R. Ford and George H. W. Bush. Vice Presidents Spiro T. Agnew and Albert Gore were also members.

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.